Based on the match configuration, some records are automatically merged, and some are queued for manual merge. You can manually review these master records and then merge them to create a new master record. The trust score and survivorship criteria identify the field values for the master record. All the source records of the merged master records appear as the source records of the newly created master record.
You can manually merge master records even if their contributing source records are disabled for matching. After you merge them and create a new master record, the match and merge status of those merged source records remain unchanged.
If you delete an entry in a deduplicated field group from a master record, MDM SaaS handles the deleted entry in one of the following ways:
•If you merge a record created after the delete action, MDM SaaS recalculates trust scores and selects an entry from the merged record to replace the deleted entry.
•If you merge a record created before the delete action, entries from the merged record don't replace the deleted entry.
When you search for records or after you open a record, you can select relevant records and merge them.
1Select the business entity and use the search box to search for the records.
2Perform one of the following tasks:
- Open a record to which you want to merge records.
- Select the records that you want to merge.
The first search result becomes the master record to which the other selected records are merged.
3Click Selected > Merge Records.
The Merge Records page appears and displays the preview of the new merged master record.
4Click Add Records.
The Add Records dialog box appears.
5Search for the records and select the master records that you want to merge, and click Add.
Note:
You can select only 20 records at a time.
All master records are labeled with a random number that is unique to the record. The number of the contributing record is displayed on the field in the master record preview column.
6To view records that are selected or not selected for record merge, use the Merge Decision filter.
7Select the records that you want to merge.
8Optionally, override field values or field group values in the merge preview.
aSelect the field value or field group that you want to override.
If a field group is configured for deduplication, you can only override a whole field group entry. If the field group isn't configured for deduplication, you can override the field group values in the same way as general information fields.
bSelect Override Surviving Value.
cIn the confirmation dialog box, review the values to override, and click Override.
The selected field value or field group value overrides the field value or field group value on the Merge Records page.
The fields that were overridden display an override indicator with the message Overridden.
Overriding field values in the merge preview doesn't change the overrides in the contributing records before they are merged.
9Optionally, remove an overridden field value or field group value.
aHover over the field value or field group that was overridden.
bSelect Actions > Remove Preview Override.
The trust score is recalculated to identify the field value or field group values with the highest trust score. The values with the highest trust score contribute to the preview of the new master record.
The override indicator disappears.
10Optionally, ignore all overrides for a field from contributing records.
aHover over the field value or field group that was overridden.
The trust score is recalculated to identify the field value or field group value with the highest trust score and ignore overrides from contributing records. The fields that ignore overrides from contributing records display an override indicator with the message All Overrides Removed.
If you override a field value in the merge preview, select the option Remove Merge Candidate and Preview Overrides instead.
11Submit the records for merge.
Action
Description
Merge
Based on your user role privileges, if no approval is required, the merge action is available. When you merge, the selected master records are merged to the master record that you opened or the first record on the search results page, and the record is set to the active state.
Send for Approval
Based on your user role privileges, if an approval is required or optional, the send for approval action is available. When you send for approval, a merge review workflow task is created and available for approvers to review. The records remain in the active state, but the records are merged only after the merge proposal is approved.
Note:
If the merge proposal is pending for approval or some of the records are pending for any other approval process, the new master record is moved to the pending state and you can't add additional records to the new master record.