Objectives run when users update records during approval workflows.
If you configure approval workflows for business applications, the trigger conditions that you configure for an objective take effect when a record enters approval workflows.
Submitting the record for approval
When the user sends the record for approval, the On submission trigger condition applies and the objectives run on the record to enrich and validate it. The results are applied and saved to the record. A business event then moves the record into the approval workflow, and a task is created in the Workflow Inbox for the user.
Editing a record from the Workflow Inbox
When a user claims the task, edits the record, and applies changes to a section, the On section save and submission condition applies and objectives run on the record. The results appear in the section but aren't saved yet.
When the user clicks Save, the On submission condition applies and objectives run again. The results of the objectives are applied to the record that's in the pending state. The edits and the results of the objectives remain in the record that's in the pending state until the user approves the record. The changes are saved to the record only when the user approves the record.
Resolving the task
The action that a user takes to resolve the task determines what happens to the record that's in the pending state:
•Approve. Saves the changes including edits and the results of objectives to the record.
•Reject. Discards all edits and results of objectives that ran when the user clicked the Save button.
•Release. Returns the task to the pool of unassigned tasks. The record remains in the pending state, and it retains the edits and the results of the objectives. The user who claims the task next can view the changes.
Multi-step approval workflows
In a multi-step approval workflow, such as MDM Two Step Approval or MDM Four Step Approval, this behavior repeats at each step. For example, after the first user approves a task, if the second user edits the record, objectives run again when the second user edits the record and saves the record.
CLAIRE recommendations
If you configure rule associations to display enrichment data as recommendations, the recommendations appear in the CLAIRE panel after a user applies changes to a section and saves the record. The user can accept or reject recommendations.