Lineage views are named configurations that save your specific lineage settings. The views highlight critical data dependencies and other details that are relevant to your requirements.
Lineage views ensure that after you create a lineage configuration you can return to it instantly without reconfiguring the same settings. From the Lineage views list on the Lineage page, you can access all views.
The following image highlights the Lineage Views list and shows its four distinct sections:
The Lineage views list organizes all views into the following categories:
•Current View. The view currently open for the asset.
•Pinned Views. The views you pin for quick access.
•Other Views. All other views that you create or that others share with you.
•Manage Views. Opens the Manage Views page that lets you organize and manage all your saved views, views shared with you, and default system views.
System and custom views
Data Governance and Catalog provides predefined system views, that serve as default business or technical views for an asset's lineage. Default Technical View focuses on technical data elements, transformations, and detailed system flows. Default Business View focuses on high-level data set flows and business context. You can't delete or share these predefined system views, but you can use them as the foundation for creating custom views.
To focus on data insights that are most relevant to you, you can create custom lineage views and share them with others in your organization. Administrators can set customized lineage views as the default views for users, user groups, and user roles. You can also pin lineage views for quick access, edit and clone them, and also delete custom views.
Data Governance and Catalog clearly distinguishes between personal or custom views that you create and the system views that Data Governance and Catalog provides.
If you saved lineage preferences for an asset, these views automatically migrate to lineage views known as Converted Lineage Views. These views include a description clarifying that Data Governance and Catalog converted from your original lineage preferences.
Default lineage view
The lineage view that you see on the Lineage tab of an asset is your default lineage view. If you create multiple technical and business lineage views for an asset, you can set separate default views for them. From the Lineage view menu or from the Manage Views page, you can set a lineage view as your default. You can use any lineage view that is available to you as your default. Administrators with the Manage Access Control privilege can also assign default views that are specific to a user's role and organization.
The following image shows the Set as Default view option in the Lineage Views list:
If you don't set a default view, Data Governance and Catalog selects the lineage view that opens for an asset by using the following order of precedence:
You can create custom views to save specific, tailored configurations of the lineage graph that address your unique technical or business needs. You can also share this created view with other users in your organization.
The Lineage views list on the Lineage page displays the predefined business or technical view for the asset. You can use the predefined view as the foundation for creating custom views. Alternatively, you can create and share an entirely new view from the Manage Views page. For more information, see Manage lineage views.
1From the Lineage views list on the Lineage page, select any view that you want to modify and save as a new custom view.
2Open the Manage Configuration hub.
3Configure the data lineage levels, filters, rules, and overlays in the configuration hub, and click Apply. For more information about configuring lineage, see Configure an asset's lineage graph.
When you apply configuration changes to a view, the name of the view is appended with the term 'modified'. You can click Reset View from the action menu to return the lineage configuration to its original state.
4Click the Lineage views list and click the Action menu for the selected view.
5Select Save as New View....
6Enter a unique name and description for the view.
7Toggle the Share this View button and click Save and Next.
8On the Share dialog box, choose whether to keep the view private, share it with other users, user groups, or roles, or share it with all users in the organization. While sharing the lineage view, specify the view or edit permission that you want to assign to the recipients of the lineage view.
9Click Save.
The saved view appears in your list of views under the My Views tab on the Manage Views page.
When you create a new view based on a pinned view or the current view, the new view is automatically pinned by default. You can add up to five pinned views.
You can manage and share your lineage views from the Manage Views page. You can pin or unpin views for quick access. For more information about managing your lineage views, see Manage lineage views.
Assigning and setting a default lineage view
As an administrator, you can set the default lineage view for users in your organization based on their role or their user group.
To set a role-based or organization-level default view, you need the Manage Access Control privilege.
1On the Manage Views page, click the action menu for the lineage view that you want to assign.
2Select Manage Sharing.
The Manage Sharing dialog box appears.
3In the Manage Sharing dialog box, select one of the following options:
Field
Description
Private
Set this view as visible only to you. If you select Private, the view access is removed for everyone with whom you earlier shared the view.
Share with specific users, user groups and roles
Select one or more users, user groups, or roles to share the view with, and assign them permissions to view or edit this view.
Share with all users
Share this view with all users and assign them permissions to view or edit this view. The permissions that you assign here replace any existing permissions previously set for this view.
4Select Share with specific users, user groups and roles.
5Add the users, user groups, or roles that you want to share the view with.
The Shared with table lists each recipient that you add, along with their Name, Email ID, and Permissions. Click a permission to change it.
6To set a view as the default view, select the Set as Default View check box.
The Set as Default View check box appears only if you're granted the Manage Access Control privilege.
7Click Save.
If you replace an existing default view, the Replace Default View confirmation dialog box appears.
A message confirms that the view is assigned to the users in your organization and is set as the default.
Manage lineage views
Organize and manage your lineage views from the Manage Views page.
Click the Manage Views option from the Lineage views list to see all your saved views and views that are shared with you.
The following image shows the Manage Views page:
You can perform the following actions for lineage views from the Manage Views page:
•Create View. Click the Add icon on the top of the page to create an entirely new view. Enter the name, description and the properties of the lineage view configuration including the data lineage level, filters, rules, and overlays.
The following image shows the Create View page for entering the configuration properties for a new sample lineage view called 'Transformation Details':
•Edit View. Update the name, description, or lineage configuration of a view that you have created or is shared with you with the edit permission. You can't edit system views that Data Governance and Catalog provides by default.
•Clone View. Use a custom or system view, including views that are shared with you, as a template to create a new lineage view.
•Delete View. Permanently remove custom views that you created. You can't delete system views or views that are shared with you.
•Manage Sharing. Manage access to your lineage view, and assign view or edit permissions while sharing the view with others. You can also set default view for users in your organization. You can't share system views and views that are shared with you.
•Pin for Quick Access or Unpin from Quick Access. Pin your most frequently used views to the top of the Lineage views list on the Lineage page for instant access. Unpin views that are infrequently used. You can pin a maximum of five views at a time. If you exceed this limit, a warning message appears asking you to unpin a view from the list.
•Set as Default View. Set a lineage view as your default view. You can set default technical views and default business views. To set default views, you require the Manage Access Control privilege.
•Assign Owner. A user with the Manage Access Control permission can reassign the view to another user.